NBA Teams with the Most Championships

Winning a national (or even a world) championship in any sport is the generally the ultimate goal for any athlete or coach involved in any sport. The feeling of victory, the satisfaction of knowing that you are the best of the best, the excitement you have holding the first place trophy, cutting down a net, or putting on that championship ring—it’s an experience that unfortunately only a handful of individuals get to experience in a lifetime. And could you imagine experiencing that more than once? Back-to-back or even multiple times?

In the National Basketball Association (NBA), there are s select number of elite teams who have won multiple NBA titles. Five teams, including the Boston Celtics, Los Angeles Lakers, Chicago Bulls, San Antonio Spurs and the Golden State Warriors, hold 70 percent of all the NBA titles since the league’s creation in 1946. With dynamic players and effective coaching, teams have found their way to consecutive tiles that have lead to the creation of dynasties. These are the stories of the top three teams…

The Boston Celtics (17 Titles)

Beginning with the 1956-1957 season, the Boston Celtics have been a force to be reckoned with in the NBA. Between the years 1959 to 1966, the Celtics won eight consecutive NBA titles. In total, the Celtics hold 17 NBA titles. Unsurprisingly, the NBA players with the most NBA titles have also been Celtics players. These players include Bill Russell (11); Sam Jones (10); Tom Heinsohn, K.C. Jones, Tom Sanders, and John Havlicek (all with 8); Jim Loscutoff and Frank Ramsey (both with 7); and Bob Cousy (6). The Celtics’ most recent championship came during the 2007-2008 season. Eight years since their last title, the team has left fans wondering: when will the Celtics add on an 18th championship?

The Los Angeles Lakers (16 Titles)

Just one title behind the Boston Celtics, the Los Angeles Lakers come in second for the most championship wins in the NBA with 16. The Lakers actually won their first title during the 1948-1949 season when the team was still based in Minneapolis, Minnesota. The Lakers have had multiple winning streaks, bringing home five championships between 1948-1954 (in Minneapolis), and three between 1999-2002 (in Los Angeles). Similar to the Celtics, Lakers’ star Kareem Abdul-Jabbar (7) is also known as being on of the NBA’s players with the most championships. The team brought home their last title during the 2009-2010 season.

The Chicago Bulls (6 Titles)

Following the Lakers, the Chicago Bulls currently hold 6 NBA titles. The Bulls have had two three-peat title wins, first running between 1991-1993 and then again between the years 1996-1998. Many believe that the Bulls have Michael Jordan (6), Scottie Pippen (6) and Coach Phil Jackson to thank for each of their NBA title wins—and some even like to argue that the Bulls could have won nine titles if not for Jordan’s retirement. The team’s most recent championship came during the 1997-1998 season, and since then the Bulls have gone more than 18 years without winning a title.

Please follow and like us: